Location, map, hours | Become a member!
Hours: Saturdays and Sundays, 1-5 p.m.
For more information: Click here, or call 503-654-2292. (During weekend museum hours, call 503-659-5780.)
This beautiful small museum was formerly the George Wise family farmhouse, built on Lake Road in 1865. Later owners of the house, United Grocers, donated the structure to the Milwaukie Historical Society. The historic house was moved and restored thanks to the combined efforts of the Society members, the entire community, and a bicentennial grant. Dedication took place June 7, 1975.
Guided tours on weekdays for school classes, Scouts, clubs, and other small groups can be arranged by appointment. Call 503-654-2292.
A star attraction of Milwaukie Historical Society is "Old No. 3," a horse-drawn streetcar dating from 1872 that originally served Portland Street Railway Co. As the sole survivor of the area's earliest streetcars, "Old No. 3" was restored and later became property of the Milwaukie Historical Society.